Working Out

16 Nov

I hope you thoroughly enjoyed browsing My Smart Choices. Another My Smart Choice that I want to mention is Working Out. Yes friends, its important to get your body moving (I want to live to be 100!!) So you might be asking, what does a gal like you (Miss MySmartChoice) do to workout? And why do you workout? Are you trying to lose weight (because that is a common assumption as to why people workout)?

Well friends here are a few things I do to “work-out”:

1. Hit the gym! I would LOVE to go daily and stay for about an hour. But with a time crunched schedule, I tend to go 5-6 days per week. Sometimes I stay for an hour, other times (like this morning at 6:00AM, I stay for 40 minutes). I typically do cardio when i am at the gym (aka elliptical or treadmill). Here is a picture of the one I use

Source

2. Walk! Yes, walking is a great way to stay fit. It means you are keeping active. My grandmother has walked approximately 4 miles everyday and she is as fit as a fiddle! Even after having major hip surgery, she is still walking! It is not too strenuous and does get the heart a-pumping!

3. Utilize household weights. I have 2 sets of hand weights that I make sure to use as often as possible. I have 1 set of 5 lb weights and 1 set of 3 lb weights. Both sets are used to work on my arms, legs (yes I said legs) and to overall strength train my body.

4. Workout DVDs.

Whenever I am in a serious time crunch, too busy to hit the gym, and its raining outside, I have a go-to workout routine called Jillian Michael’s 30 Day shred. Its 20-25 min (yay for quick workouts!) of circuit training. It get me sweating and feeling prestine. Its a great total body workout. I highly recommend it. What’s also great is that there are 3 levels. I initially started off with level 1. However, I have worked my way up to level 2. Hopefully, I will soon be brave enough for level 3. The first 2 levels aren’t overly difficult (just difficult enough to make you sweat). Its great if you want something quick. If you’d like to longate the workout, it would also be recommended to do two workout sessions (for ex. level 1 and level2). But, that is if you are still energetic enough! 😉

Overall, in my opinion there is no reason to not workout. It makes me feel great (those endorphins really lighten my day) and gets me pumped up! I personally do not work out as a weight loss tool. If you spoke to me 2 years ago, I would have said the complete opposite in saying that weight loss was the reason I worked out. But personally, life is too short to stress over one’s weight (ESPECIALLY if it is at a healthy weight to begin with). I’ve realized vanity is just not my thing (as much as society seems to disagree). I would rather be healthy and take care of myself, rather than worry about the decrease in the number on the scale. But that my friends, is another post for another time.

Hope you are making working out a fitness-yes please part of your life!

xoxo,
Cindy

One Response to “Working Out”

  1. togtraining November 16, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    Great site, and great motivation to get to the gym as much as you do. If you are looking for new ways to workout, submit a request for an innovative workout at “The Anywhere Challenge” at my site!

    -The Other Guy

    http://www.TOGTraining.Wordpress.com
    http://www.Twitter.com/TOGTraining
    TheOtherGuyTraining@GMail.com

Leave a Reply

